Skip to content

Yao Ming’s Real Retirement Speech

September 16, 2011

Giles Li is a Boston-based, Asian American spoken word artist who also happens to be a basketball fan. Because of his Boston roots, I think he may indeed be a Celtics fan but……we won’t talk about that.

The subject at hand is a wonderful piece that should’ve been Yao Ming’s real retirement speech:


“100 experts say that my value is not as a man, but as a marketing tool.”

“How I pretend not to hear every goddamn slur in every goddamn city every goddamn day of my life.”

“Y’all been telling me my own story for so long I figured no one wanted to hear it from my lips anyway.”

Miss you, Yao. But glad you’re moving on.

 

-Joyce

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

