Skip to content

Mavs Take Down the Heat, All is Right With the World

June 13, 2011

Sweet, sweet victory. (Photo Credit: dallasnews.com)

Last night, good overcame evil. Or so that’s the narrative that all NBA outlets will be subconsciously feeding you today. I don’t know if I necessarily agree but I am damn happy that the Mavs won and the Heat lost. No ring for you!

Some general thoughts:

  • It’s so great to see Dirk finally get a ring. Before last night, he was still considered one of the greatest basketball players of all time but let’s be real, in the NBA, no matter how amazing you are, unless you have a championship, you will always be considered one of those players: great but not great enough. Unfair? Oh hell yeah. But that’s how it is. And then with all the shots Dirk has taken over the years – being labeled ‘soft,’ too old – it must’ve been sweet, sweet relief to exorcize all these demons against the team that has probably haunted him these last five years. Dirk solidified his legacy as one of the greatest of all time last night.
  • Yes, Chris Bosh cried but so what? Look, it’s no secret that I’m not a huge fan of Chris Bosh but people need to stop harping on him for crying after the game last night. To be honest, I feel like I can kind of see where he’s coming from. You spend your entire life working towards this moment: to be in the NBA finals, so incredibly close to winning a ring – the ultimate validation in your chosen career – and your team loses. Doesn’t matter that you had a pretty good game. Doesn’t matter that you have two of the best players in the league on your team [who had not-so-good games last night, let’s be real here]. You still lost. And for the amount of scrutiny and pressure the Heat were under this entire year [which they asked for, so whatever], I’m sure that must have added to everything he was feeling last night and pushed him over the edge. It doesn’t make him any less of a man. It makes him human.
  • I’ll admit it, like a ton of other people, I’m kind of wondering ‘what happened to Lebron?’ myself. Seriously, what happened to the guy? I’m not going to sit here and pretend like I personally know him and attempt to psychoanalyze him but, after the Boston/Chicago series, it really was just….weird to see him play so passively. Sure, I am just a wee bit sick of all the focus always being on LBJ but I also can’t deny that I eat this shit up, too. There’s something perversely fun about picking him apart and trying to ‘figure him out.’
  • I’m so glad the Mavs won and that it wasn’t the goddamn Lakers or Celtics hoisting the Larry O’Brien trophy. Yay for franchises-who’ve-never-won-a-ring-to-finally-win!
  • Maybe D. Rose should get a championship trophy tattoo? Eh? Eh?
  • What do you think Mark Cuban will buy for his players instead of rings? Someone on twitter said JETs and that legitimately made me chuckle.
  • The 2010-2011 season is officially OVER. And with the impending lockout, no new basketball possibly until next February. Or they might even cancel the 2011-2012 season. WHAT AM I GOING TO DO WITH MYSELF? Seriously, people. I cannot go that long with basketball. I may die.

In the meantime, let’s still take some time to rejoice in the Mav’s win and dismantling of the Heat. Congratulations to the Mavs and Mavs fans!

-Joyce

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

