Skip to content

All-Star Weekend = 3 Days of Pretending Like Any of This Actually Matters

February 20, 2011

Hey y’all. So, today’s the last day of All-Star Weekend. Caught the last bits of the Celebrity game on Friday night and did watch the Shooting Stars competition, 3-point shoot out and dunk contest. Celebrity game was what you would’ve guessed it’d be: ridiculous. Shooting stars was underwhelming [better luck next year, Team Chicago]. 3-point shoot out was forgettable. But I have to admit, the dunk contest wasn’t too shabby.

I’ll keep it real, this was my first time watching the dunk contest so I don’t really have anything to compare it to but I thought it was pretty fun for the most part. My gripe would be that some dunks had way too many props/pageantry/whatever going on. Just get to the dunks, goddammit! Not to mention having to wait while some of the players had to take 4 or 5 tries to get the dunk right.

Now, I’m not the hugest fan of Blake Griffin so I’ll probably come off biased here but if the dunk contest was actually based off of skill/creativity, then DeMar DeRozan or JaVale McGee should have won. But since we know it isn’t and there was probably some home-cooking going on, I guess it’s only appropriate that Blake won. Still, I’d have to say my favorite’s in no particular order were: 1) JaVale’s two-baskets-side-by-side dunk 2) his other dunk where he had to duck his head under the backboard while dunking away from the hoop and 3) DeMar’s Showstopper. [all can be seen in the video above]. I think what the dunk contest and All-Star Weekend as a whole shows is that basketball is just a sport [and something I have to remind myself of constantly]. Where world-class athletes put on a show for millions of viewers. And that’s it. Nothing more than a show. [Jocelyn may have more on this in a future post].

But whatever. This is all generally meaningless buildup to the All-Star game itself [which could also be labeled as ‘meaningless’]. As a Bulls fan, I think this game has some significance in that it’s a way to show THE ENTIRE WORLD [or something] just how phenomenal D. Rose is and maybe make a little push towards his MVP campaign. If anything, it’ll be some nice publicity for D. Rose and perhaps draw some new fans onto the D. Rose-is-awesome-and-your-point-guard-isn’t train. [I keed, I keed. Sort of].

Anyway, looking forward to the game. Hope he does something unbelievably insane. Do us proud, D. Rose!

-Joyce

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

